British theater appoints co-chairs for the first time in the organization’s history


Today (Wednesday 3 November) at the UK Theater AGM, UK Theater members voted for Jon Gilchrist and Stephanie Sirr as co-chairs for the first time in the organization’s history.

Current President of the British Theater Fiona Allan, who is leaving Birmingham Racecourse for a new role at Opera Australia, stepped down as President at the AGM (a year before her term expired). At the end of Fiona’s term, Stephanie Sirr automatically assumes the role of President since she is already the current Vice-President, and Jon Gilchrist becomes Interim Vice-President.

Starting at the 2022 AGM for a 3-year term, Stéphanie and Jon will be co-chairs.

A statement from Jon Gilchrist and Stephanie Sirr:

“We are delighted to take on the roles of Co-Chairs to continue the work of the past few years to provide an organization that truly supports our industry at a time when it needs it most. There is a lot of work to be done to keep moving the sector forward and as Co-Chairs we will be better able to do this alongside the current venues.

“In addition, as Co-Chairs, we underline the UK Theater’s commitment to job sharing and improving the flexibility of the industry as employers. Finally, because the interests of production and broadcast houses will be fully represented by us, we believe that at this critical time, our combined approach will help the sector to recover from the pandemic.

“Shared leadership will allow us to focus on a wider range of priorities and better reflect the needs of members. We are also committed to creating a UK theater board that better reflects all areas of the industry. During our tenure we look forward to working with the UK Theater team to take advantage of the constitutional changes in place to diversify the board and positions of power. ‘

Information on newly appointed Board members will follow in due course.


Comments are closed.