Nominations Announced for Off-Broadway’s 2022 Lucille Lortel Awards


Appointments for the 37e Annual Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, produced by the Off-Broadway League and the Lucille Lortel Theater with additional support provided by TDF, was announced today by Broadway stars Lilli Cooper and Lea DeLaria POTUS. The 2022 awards are the first to feature gender-neutral performance categories and an award for outstanding ensemble.

The abbreviated 2021-22 Off-Broadway season featured 44 eligible productions, 30 of which earned a total of 72 nominations across all categories. Atlantic Theater Company Kimberly Akimbo and Ars Nova Oratorio for Living Beings received the most nominations for musicals, with six each. New York Theater Workshop About Sugarland is the most nominated piece, with five. As previously announced, this year’s special honorees are Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Deirdre O’Connell and Playwrights’ Sidewalk inductee David Henry Hwang.

The nominations are:

Outstanding game: coal countryproduced by Audible and The Public Theatre, written by Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen; Englishproduced by Atlantic Theater Company and Roundabout Theater Company, written by Sanaz Toossi; Letters of Sureshproduced by Second Stage Theatre, written by Rajiv Joseph; About Sugarland, produced by New York Theater Workshop, written by Aleshea Harris; and Prayer for the French Republicproduced by Manhattan Theater Club, written by Joshua Harmon;

On Sugarland.

Outstanding Musical: More blackproduced by The New Group, book by John Ridley, lyrics by Tariq Trotter, music by Tariq Trotter, Anthony Tidd, James Poyser and Daryl Waters; intimate clothesproduced by Lincoln Center Theatre, music by Ricky Ian Gordon, book by Lynn Nottage; Kimberly Akimbo, produced by Atlantic Theater Company, book and lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, music by Jeanine Tesori, based on the play by David Lindsay-Abaire; and Oratorio for Living Beingsproduced by Ars Nova, by Heather Christian;

Outstanding Revival: MURDERERSproduced by Classic Stage Company, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by John Weidman, based on an idea by Charles Gilbert, Jr.; The Chinese Lady, produced by Ma-Yi Theater Company, presented by The Public Theatre, a production of Barrington Stage Company and Ma-Yi Theater Company, written by Lloyd Suh; and DUSK: LOS ANGELES, 1992produced by Signature Theatre, written by Anna Deavere Smith;

Outstanding Solo Exhibition: Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, produced by the New York Theater Workshop, written and performed by Kristina Wong; and LITTLE BLUE GIRLproduced by Rashad V. Chambers, Willette & Manny Klausner, E. Clayton Cornelious/Joshua Morgan, Victoria Bondoc, McCabe Productions LLC, Live & In Color, writing by Laiona Michelle, additional material by Devan and Janki, music and lyrics by various composers , performed by Laiona Michelle;

Outstanding Director: David CromerPrayer for the French Republic; John Doyle, MURDERERS; Lee Sunday Evans, Oratorio for Living Beings; Taibi Magar, DUSK: LOS ANGELES, 1992; and Whitney White, About Sugarland;

Outstanding Choreographer: Bill T. Jones, More black; Raja Plume Kelly, About Sugarland; Danny Meford, Kimberly Akimbo; Jose Prince, Trevor: a new musical; and Randy Skinner, Cheek to Cheek: IRVING BERLIN TO HOLLYWOOD;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play: Stephanie Berry, About Sugarland; W. Tre Davis, Tambo & Bones; Elizabeth Marvel, Long day trip into night; Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady; and Mary Wiseman, At the wedding;

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play: Abena, Nollywood Dreams; Betsy Aidem, Prayer for the French Republic; Francis Benhamou, Prayer for the French Republic; Jacob Ming-Trent the alchemist; and Thom Sesma, Letters of Suresh;

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical: Kearstin Piper Brown, intimate clothes; Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo; Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo; Tamika Laurent, More black; and Ahmad Maksoud, The visitor;

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical: Steven Boyer, Kimberly Akimbo; Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo; Ethan Slater, MURDERERS; Will Swenson, MURDERERS; and Lillias White, More black;

Outstanding ensemble: EnglishTala Ashe, Ava Lalezarzadeh, Pooya Mohseni, Marjan Neshat, Hadi Tabbal; Oratorio for Living Beings, Johnny Butler, Kirstyn Cae Ballard, Jane Cardona, Sean Donovan, Carla Duren, Clérida Eltimé, Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Brian Flores, Odetta Hartman, Quentin Oliver Lee, Angel Lozada, Divya Maus, Barrie Lobo McLain, Ben Moss, John Murchison, Onyie Nwachukwu, Dito Van Reigersberg, Peter Wise; and DUSK: LOS ANGELES, 1992Elena Hurst, Wesley T. Jones, Francis Jue, Karl Kenzler, Tiffany Rachelle Stewart;

Outstanding Stage Design: Wilson Chin, space dogs; Marsha Ginsberg, English; Adam Rigg, cullud wattah; Adam Rigg, About Sugarland; and David Rockwell, Christopher and Justin Swader, SEVEN CAPITAL SINS;

Outstanding Costume Design: Ari Fulton Confederates; Gregory Gale, fairy cakes; Dominique Faon Hill, Tambo & Bones; Marion Talan de la Rosa Oratorio for Living Beings; and Catherine Zuber, intimate appearanceI ;

Outstanding lighting design: Isabelle Byrd, Sanctuary city; Lap Chi Chu, morning sun; Jeff Croiter, More black; Stacey Derosier, sand; and Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, Oratorio for Living Beings;

Outstanding sound design: Mikhail Fiksel, Tambo & Bones; Nick Kourtides, Oratorio for Living Beings; Fabien Obispo, The Chinese Lady; Mikaal Suleiman, Sanctuary city; and Darron L West, DUSK: LOS ANGELES, 1992;

Outstanding Projection Design: David Bengali and Hana S. Kim, The visitor; Shawn Duan, Letters of Suresh; Shawn Duan, The Chinese lady; Yee Eun Nam, Long day trip into night; and Caite Hevner, Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord;

Honorary awards: Lifetime Achievement: Deirdre O’Connell; and inducted into the Playwrights’ Sidewalk: David Henry Hwang.

With COVID safety in mind, rather than having one host and multiple presenters, this year the awards will be presented by a few host/presenter pairs on Sunday, May 1, 2022, at NYU Skirball, 566 LaGuardia Place in Washington Square, NYC, from 7 p.m. Tickets for the in-person event will be available on line.


Comments are closed.