Recipients of NYC’s 2022 Chita Rivera Awards for Dance


The 4e Annual Chita Rivera Awards, the only prizes dedicated exclusively to dance, were presented this evening, Monday, June 20, from 7:30 p.m., at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. The star-studded evening was hosted by Charlotte d’Amboise and Bianca Marroquin from the Broadway production of Chicago. Rivera, Ben Vereen, Wayne Cilento, Desmond Richardson, Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, Dylis Croman and Rachel Zatcoff presented the 2022 awards. The live ceremony also included performances by d’Amboise et Marroquin, Bebe Neuwirth, Fiddler on the Roof in YiddishAmerican Dance Machine for the 21stst Century and dancers from Pace University’s Commercial Dance BFA program.

This year, the awards in eight competitive categories for Broadway, Off Broadway and Film considered shows that opened before COVID, as well as during the 2021-2022 season. In addition to those, as previously announced, legendary Broadway performer and Tony, Oscar and Golden Globe Award winner Joel Gray (Cabaret; Nasty; everything is fine) received the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Excellence in Off-Broadway Musical Theater was celebrated with two special awards recognizing Outstanding Choreography and Outstanding Ensemble.

And the winners of the Chita Rivera Awards 2022 are:

Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show: Bill T. Jones, Garrett Coleman, Jason Oremus, place of paradise;

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show: (tie) Myles Frost, MJ the musical; Jared Grimes, funny girl;

Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show: Tendayi Kuumba, for girls of color who have thought about suicide/when the rainbow is enough;

Stacey Sargeant, Amara Granderson, Okwui Okpokwasili, Tendayi Kuumba, Kenita R. Miller, D. Woods and Alexandria Wailes for girls of color who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is insufficient. Photo by Marc J. Franklin.

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show: for girls of color who have thought about suicide/when the rainbow is enough;

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show: Jose Prince, Trevor;

Outstanding Ensemble in an Off-Broadway Show: the wrong man;

Outstanding Choreography for a Theatrical Release: tick, tick. . . BOOM!Choreographer Ryan Heffington, Associate Choreographer Ryan Spencer;

Outstanding Direction of a Documentary Release: (tie) First try, director Josh Prince; and Maurice Hines: Bring Them Backdirector John Carluccio.

Congratulations to the winners and recipients of the 2022 Chita Rivera Awards. All proceeds from the evening benefit the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation College Scholarship Programwhich awards college scholarships to talented teenagers.


Comments are closed.